More Housing Now & Land Use Initiative


The Colorado Department of Local Affairs (DOLA) supports efforts by local governments to adopt land use and other strategies to increase opportunity for affordable housing development. A significant barrier to redevelopment is the cost to upgrade and upsize or otherwise provide needed infrastructure to incentivize affordable housing development. While these project types are already eligible under Energy & Mineral Impact Assistance (EIAF) program guidelines, this initiative helps address the significant demand for local government infrastructure to support affordable housing development. The Initiative supports a reduced local match and increased award opportunities. All applications in this Initiative will follow the regularly planned cycles of the EIAF program.

Eligible Projects

Infrastructure projects that support affordable and attainable housing goals (grant limit increased to $2M)

  • Publicly owned infrastructure and streetscape improvements: water, sewer, stormwater, publicly owned utility infrastructure, sidewalks, and streetscape or placemaking improvements, including high efficiency street lights, accessibility improvements, public electric vehicle (EV) charging stations, and bike or other multimodal improvements
  • Ineligible: housing construction or privately-owned infrastructure

Development and adoption of land use strategies to make it easier to develop affordable housing, such as: 

  • land use strategy adoption
  • regional housing needs assessments, shared housing analysis and agreements (“fair share agreements”), fiscal health and greenhouse gas reduction land use strategy analysis, and similar work necessary to inform impactful strategy selection and adoption. 
  • technology and process improvements that effectively streamline development review processes for affordable housing projects
  • preliminary planning and analysis (public/nonprofit) technical assistance projects in rural communities (defined as a county with a population of less than 50,000 or a municipality with a population of less than 25,000)
  • Ineligible: Housing needs assessments and similar studies and plans are eligible but must be paired with land use strategy adoption.
  • Municipalities and counties are encouraged to seek funding from other DLG programs first (e.g., Prop 123 Local Planning Capacity, Strong Communities)

All projects must address how the jurisdiction will consider equity issues for each infrastructure or planning project. 


$20M is established as an initiative within the EIAF Program through June 30, 2026 or when funds run out.

Match requirements:

  • Infrastructure projects: 25%
  • Planning projects: 10% 

Projects with plans for more affordable units, onsite day care, and/or renewable energy will be more competitive for infrastructure funding. 

The most competitive infrastructure projects will be able to demonstrate the necessary planning/design and financial feasibility has been completed 

Additionally, EIAF funding may only pay for publicly-owned infrastructure. Infill projects are more competitive.

Projects are encouraged to meet the 2021 Internal Energy Conservation Code or net zero standards, and/or meet resilient building standards (e.g., wildfire resistant building materials). 

  • Rural and Urban communities - up to 140% area median income (AMI) for rental and ownership
  • Rural resort communities - up to 140% for rental and 160% for ownership
  • See the urban/rural/resort classifications listed below

Municipalities and counties that have adopted land use strategies or are in the process of adopting land use strategies designed to make it easier to develop affordable housing will be more competitive for infrastructure funds. 

Applications for these projects may be submitted as part of the regularly planned EIAF cycles. Applicants must contact their Regional Manager before submitting any application and be “ready to go” to be accepted into an EIAF grant cycle. 

Application opens on June 30, 2023 on the EIAF website.

To illustrate the unique needs in rural and rural resort areas of Colorado, the 64 counties were designated urban, rural, or rural resort. These designations were assigned as follows:


  • Adams County
  • Arapahoe County
  • Boulder County
  • Broomfield County
  • Denver County
  • Douglas County
  • El Paso County
  • Jefferson County
  • Larimer County
  • Mesa County
  • Pueblo County
  • Teller County
  • Weld County


  • Alamosa County
  • Baca County
  • Bent County
  • Cheyenne County
  • Clear Creek County
  • Conejos County
  • Costilla County
  • Crowley County
  • Custer County
  • Delta County
  • Dolores County
  • Elbert County
  • Fremont County
  • Garfield County
  • Gilpin County
  • Hinsdale County
  • Huerfano County
  • Jackson County
  • Kiowa County
  • Kit Carson County
  • Lake County
  • Las Animas County
  • Lincoln County
  • Logan County
  • Mineral County
  • Moffat County
  • Montezuma County
  • Montrose County
  • Morgan County
  • Otero County
  • Park County
  • Phillips County
  • Prowers County
  • Rio Blanco County
  • Rio Grande County
  • Saguache County
  • Sedgwick County
  • Washington County
  • Yuma County

Rural Resort

  • Archuleta County
  • Chaffee County
  • Eagle County
  • Grand County
  • Gunnison County
  • La Plata County
  • Ouray County
  • Pitkin County
  • Routt County
  • San Juan County
  • San Miguel County
  • Summit County


Was this content helpful?