Homeowners: Housing Recovery Program

The State of Colorado Housing Recovery Program (HRP) helps people affected by natural disasters stay in their communities by providing extra resources for rebuilding. It aims to reduce the financial burden of rebuilding, especially for households with limited resources. The program encourages rebuilding with high-performance building standards set by local communities. It also supports using sustainable building elements beyond what local codes require, such as fire-, wind-, and water-resistant materials, as well as energy-efficient measures.


How to Apply

Applicants will apply through the Impact Development Fund (IDF) portal.   

Opportunities for Homeowners 


Traditional Loan

Traditional loans are available to those who suffered damage or destruction of principal residences in the State of Colorado disasters since 2018. The applicant must be the current subject property owner and the owner of record on the disaster date. Ownership will be verified through public record, warranty deed and real estate tax records. This award is intended for those who were not able to access an SBA loan.  Households over 150% of the Area Median Income (AMI) who received an SBA loan are not eligible.

Available Loan Amount: Up to $50,000.00 maximum

Forgivable Loan

Grants in the form of forgivable loans are available for households with income below 150% of the Area Median Income (AMI) based on household size. The applicant must be the current subject property owner and the owner of record on the disaster date. Ownership will be verified through public record, warranty deed and real estate tax records.

Available Amount: Up to $100,000.00 maximum based on the household income as a percentage of area median income

Eligible Property Types

  • single family residences, 
  • duplexes, townhomes or condominiums, 
  • and manufactured homes or mobile homes permanently affixed to permanent foundations and taxed as real property that sustained major or severe damage.

Second homes and short term rental properties are not eligible for this program.

Awards in the Housing Recovery Program will be based on the income level of the household and income is calculated at the time of application. Learn about the area median income limits that apply to you and how income and household size is verified.


Traditional/Forgivable Loan

Two funding options are available for disaster mitigation measures (i.e., home hardening):

  • Up to $30,000 (funded as up to $5,000 grant, and up to $25,000 forgivable or traditional loan, dependent on income and rebuilding gap)
  • Up to $5,000 grant only (not dependent on income or a rebuilding gap) - Awards in this fund category are limited to a total of $2,000,000.

Maximum Award Amounts: The maximum award amount is $30,000 (funded as up to a $5,000 grant, and up to a $25,000 forgivable or traditional loan). Applicants may choose to apply for only the $5,000 mitigation grant. The mitigation awards will be in addition to any Housing Recovery Program award and would be added to any forgivable or traditional awards. 

$5,000 Grant: If seeking only the up to $5,000 grant: Complete a short Wind and Wildfire Protection Mitigation Program application and upload paid invoices and receipts detailing the mitigation items completed. (Grants awards limited to a total of $2,000,000.)

Eligible Wind and Wildfire Measures

  • Fire-resistant or ember-resistant siding, e.g. fiber cement siding
  • Fire-resistant windows: Triple-pane window with metal-clad or fiberglass frames
  • Fire-resistant widows: Dual-pane glass windows with metal-clad or fiberglass frames, dual-pane glass windows with metal-clad or fiberglass frames
  • In-home sprinkler systems
  • Non-combustible Class A decking attached to a residential structure, e.g. PVC, composite, concrete, fire retardant treated wood, etc.
  • Non-combustible fencing materials that are within 5 feet of a residential structure, e.g. metal, fire retardant treated materials, etc.
  • Gutter guards
  • Ember-resistant and flame-resistant venting

Additional Manufactured (Mobile) Housing Mitigation Measures

  • Insulation (pipe insulation and cold weather protection)
  • Tie downs/anchoring
  • Fire-resistant skirting

Electrification Rebates from Colorado Energy Office

The Colorado Energy Office is committed to supporting Colorado's recovery and rebuilding efforts. This rebate is for households impacted by disasters since 2018 for houses that were destroyed or damaged in areas of a state or federally-declared disaster. Residents may qualify for up to $20,000 in rebates for the installation of one of the options below:

  • A cold climate heat pump, electric or induction stove and a heat pump water heater
  • A ground source (geothermal) heat pump, electric or induction stove and a heat pump water heater
  • Installation of a ground source (geothermal) heat pump only.

Learn more about electrification rebates.

Smoke and Ash Damage Remediation 

The impacts of a fire disaster may continue downwind away from the actual area where homes and property were destroyed by any fire. Smoke and ash damage to homes outside of any burn scar can be significant and are as much a result of the fire as the damage and loss within the burn area. Repair and renovation of properties due to smoke and ash damage is an eligible expense within the geographic area designated in either the State or Federal disaster declaration. For example, if a disaster declaration were for Boulder or Grand counties, smoke and ash damage would be an eligible expense in those two counties but not in neighboring counties.

Eligibility requirements for smoke and ash damage impacted homes:

  • Homes located within the state or federally-declared disaster area.
  • Smoke and ash damage must be certified by an IICRC-certified technician.

Learn more about smoke and ash damage.

Eligibility Requirements

Eligible applicants include persons who owned a disaster-impacted home as their primary residence at the time of an eligible state-declared disaster and owned that property at the time of application. Applicants must have an existing funding gap for rebuilding that is not covered by homeowners’ insurance or other financial support.

Eligible Disasters since 2018

  • Spring Creek Fire: Costilla & Huerfano Counties  (2018)
  • Chateau Fire: Teller County  (2018)
  • Lake Christine Fire: Eagle County  (2018)
  • Avalanche Debris and Flooding Risk: Hinsdale County  (2019)
  • Cameron Peak Fire: Larimer County  (2020)
  • Mullen Fire: Jackson County  (2020)
  • East Troublesome Fire: Grand County  (2020)
  • Calwood Fire: Boulder County  (2020)
  • Muddy Slide Fire: Routt County (2021)
  • Burn Scar Flooding, Mudslides, Rockslides: Garfield, Larimer, Eagle, Grand, Routt, Rio Blanco & Pitkin Counties  (2021)
  • Marshall Fire and Straight-Line Winds: Boulder County  (2021)

Learn more about eligibility requirements.

Resources from Communities

Boulder County Fire Recovery

City of Louisville Marshall Fire Recovery

Town of Superior Marshall Fire Recovery

Marshall ROC (Volunteer Organization Active in Disaster) 

View a complete list of Marshall Fire Disaster Recovery Resources.

Contact Information

Tim Katers

Victor Gutierrez


Was this content helpful?