1

Community Development and Planning Training Opportunities

#FFFFFF

The Community Development Office provides technical assistance and training services to communities through a series of workshops and recorded webinars related to land use planning, economic development, and sustainable community development.

The Community Development Office provides planning refresher trainings to a limited number of municipalities and counties locally by request. These Planning Refresher sessions provide a general overview for planning commissioners and elected boards, this brief workshop is helpful for both new and long-time officials. The agenda can be tailored to fit your specific needs, but typically includes the following elements:

  • Planning Authority and Enabling Legislation
  • The Role of the Planning Commission in Relation to Elected Officials and Staff
  • Long Range Planning and Implementation Tools
  • Effective Meetings and the Decision Making Process
  • Legal and Ethical Review (ex parte contacts, conflicts of interest, etc.)

The session usually takes two hours depending on the agenda. View the Virtual Planning Refresher webinar. Please contact KC McFearson with any questions or to request a Planning Refresher workshop in your area.

Webinars and Trainings

The Community Development Office has a series of recorded webinars on land use and community planning topics.

2018 Planning for Hazards Webinar Series
Logan Sand (DOLA)

Comprehensive Plan Standards for Sustaining Places: Taking Action in Colorado
Anne Miller, David Morley, Darcie White, and Erin Fosdick
1 hour

Why Planners are Critical to Achieving Resilience
Andrew Rumbach
1 hour and 23 minutes

Chairing and Participating in Public Meetings
Gerald Dahl
20 minutes

Planning for Hazards
Anne Miller &, Tareq Wafaie
42 minutes

Integrating Hazards into the Comprehensive Plan
Logan Sand, Tareq Wafaie, Rachel Bacon, and Karen Berchtold
58 minutes

Board of Adjustment Workshop - March 22, 2018
Tim Cox, Michow, Cox, and McAskin, LLP. and City Attorney of Lakewood

Additional Online Training Resources

Planetizen Courses offer a wealth of online planning and community development training topics to choose from. If you want to round out your planning knowledge, this is a good place to start.

Contact Information

Community Development Office
1313 Sherman Street, Room 521
Denver, CO 80203
303.864.7720 (main)

Andy Hill, CDO Director
303.864.7725
andy.hill@state.co.us

Contacts by Team

Planning Team

KC McFerson, Senior Planner
303.864.7887
kc.mcferson@state.co.us

Scott Williamson, Land Use and Water Planner
720.237.1420
scott.williamson@state.co.us

Mitch Hendrick, Innovative Housing Grant Program (1271) Manager
303.548.9364
mitch.hendrick@state.co.us

Robyn DiFalco, Innovative Housing Grant Program (1271) Assistant
720.682.5202
robyn.difalco@state.co.us

Lisa Loranger, Strong Communities Grant Program Manager
303.565.6200
lisa.loranger@state.co.us

John Strandberg, Planning and Research Specialist
john.strandberg@state.co.us

Nick Kroncke, Planning and Research Specialist
nick.kroncke@state.co.us

Main Street Program

Gayle Langley, Main Street Program Coordinator
720.498.0563
gayle.langley@state.co.us

Larry Lucas, Main Street Architect
720.402.9303
larry.lucas@state.co.us

Traci Stoffel, Main Street Specialist
720.467.4327
traci.stoffel@state.co.us

#FFFFFF

Was this content helpful?