Landlord Recovery


This funding opportunity is only available for property owners whose rental was destroyed or damaged in the Marshall Fire and Straight Line Winds disaster and wish to rebuild or renovate that rental property.

How to Apply

The application for this program is coming soon.

Opportunities for Landlords

The State of Colorado Housing Recovery Program (HRP) helps people affected by natural disasters stay in their communities by providing extra resources for rebuilding. The Program application is extended to owners of a rental unit that was destroyed or damaged by the disaster and wish to rebuild that rental property and agree to a 5 year affordability period.

The Housing Recovery Program’s funding for rebuild, mitigation, and smoke and ash damage is also available to landlords. The sections below describe some additional details and requirements specific to landlords.

Eligibility Requirements

Property owners whose rental was destroyed or damaged in the Marshall Fire and Straight Line Winds disaster and wish to rebuild or renovate that rental property. Receipt of this assistance is conditioned on maintaining affordable rents for a period of at least 5 years (known as the Affordability Period) and in accordance with the current Colorado Division of Housing (DOH) guidelines. Eligible rental property types include: single‐family and multi‐family rental properties, duplexes, townhomes, and manufactured housing permanently affixed to permanent foundation and taxed as real or personal property.

Maximum Award

The Program allows up to $130,000 in assistance to affected rental property owners. The first $100,000 for rebuilding is in the form of a forgivable loan. Up to an additional $30,000 in forgivable loans may be available if the applicant reconstructs the property in accordance with additional mitigation measures as indicated in the Housing Recovery Program Guidelines. Landlord applications, if approved, will be offered only forgivable loans for rebuilding (up to $100,000) and mitigation (up to $30,000). No traditional loans will be offered.

The total award cannot exceed the difference between the cost to rebuild and the other funding sources (this difference is referred to as the rebuilding ‘gap’). The rebuilding ‘gap’ will be calculated in accordance with Housing Recovery Program guidelines. The eligible award amount is the lesser of this gap and maximum award amounts. The reason for the ‘gap’ determination is that federal law prohibits households from receiving more assistance than is needed for the intended purpose.

This program prohibits rental property owners that have received funding from this program from renting to tenant households that would pay more than 40% of their income towards rent and utilities on a rehabilitated or reconstructed rental property.

Affordability Period

Property owners must retain the property with rent restricted to that affordable to households with a Low to Moderate Income (LMI) or income at/below 80% of Area Median Income (AMI) after project completion for a period of no less than five (5) years.

All rehabilitated or reconstructed rental units must be income-restricted during the five year affordability period for LMI households. Rents that include utilities (water/sewer, gas/electric and/or heating/cooling, garbage collection) may not exceed 80% of non-Housing and Economic Recovery Act (HERA) AMI rent limits for the size of the rental home (based on number of bedrooms), as published annually by the Colorado Housing and Finance Authority (CHFA, 2023 limits available here). Alternatively, a utility allowance must be applied for units in which the above-listed utilities are not included in the rent (as published by the local Housing Authority for the current year).

The following data shows the 2023 Colorado Maximum Rents for Boulder County for households at or below 80% of Area Median Income (AMI):

  • 0 Bedroom: $1,860
  • 1 Bedroom: $1,993
  • 2 Bedroom: $2,392
  • 3 Bedroom: $2,763
  • 4 Bedroom: $3,082

Note: Maximum rent limits are subject to annual updates which may reflect in new limits.

Types of Assistance

Rental property owners at the time of the disaster and at the time of application, may apply for eligible expenses that include:

  • Direct costs of repairs or reconstruction of a damaged or destroyed rental properties including costs to rebuild to an advanced fire or other natural hazard mitigation standard;
  • Architectural, engineering, permitting or other soft costs/fees associated with repairing or rebuilding a primary residence;
  • Soil sampling and air quality monitoring;
  • Clearance and demolition costs including concrete and other foundation material removal and removal of hazardous materials including (but not limited to) asbestos;
  • Private road or bridge repair/replacement if necessary to access a primary residence;
  • Costs associated with using building and site design measures that reduce risk to natural hazards including fire resistant building materials and landscape design;
  • Costs to replant climate ready trees and vegetation;
  • Temporary rental assistance or storage costs during relocation, rebuilding or recovery work; and
  • Other recovery costs not covered by other sources that will increase resilience to future disasters.

Additional Documents and Forms


For inquiries regarding the application process, eligibility, or individuals seeking information about the State’s Housing Recovery Program, you can connect with a representative by calling 970-744-4835 Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. MST, or emailing: hrphelp@impactdf.org.


Was this content helpful?